Ekolio shop



Best of Cello Classics

Quick Overview

15 Famous Concert Pieces for Violoncello and Piano

Editor: Rainer Morhrs - Elmar Preusser 

Instrumentation: cello and piano

Edition: score and parts

160 Pages - Paperback/Soft Cover

Difficulty: easy to intermediate

Publisher: Schott Music

Ref: ED 21998






Availability: Out of stock


'Best of Cello Classics' contains 15 popular performance pieces for cello and piano from four centuries. The Baroque works also contain a continuous bass part. Apart from standard works and 'classics' such as the famous sonatas by Breval (C major), de Fesch (D minor), Vivaldi (E minor) or Saint-Saëns' 'The Swan' from 'The Carnival of Animals', this volume also contains lesser known works, like Recercada primera by Ortiz, sonatas by Cirri and Romberg, as well as some charming little character pieces by Lee, Goltermann, Nölck and Trowell. The majority of the works can, for the most part, be played in the first four positions. Some pieces containing a few notes in the neck positions are nevertheless easily playable as well.


D. Oritz: Recercada primera
A. Vivaldi: Sonata e-Moll / E minor / Mi mineur
W. de Fesch: Sonata d-Moll / D minor / Ré mineur, op. 8/3
G.B. Cirri: Sonata G-Dur / G major / Sol majeur
J.B. Bréval: Sonata C-Dur / C major / Ut majeur, op. 40/1
B. Romberg: Sonata e-Moll / E minor / Mi mineur, op. 38/1
S. Lee: Gavotte op. 112
G. Goltermann: Marche funèbre / Trauermarsch / Funeral March op. 97/2
C. Saint-Saens: Le Cygne / Der Schwan / The Swan
P.I. Tschaikowsky: Chanson triste op. 40/2
J. Klengel: Sonatina c-Moll / C minor / Ut mineur, op. 48/1
A. Nölck: Legende / Legend / Légende op. 116/4
A. Nölck: Capriccietto op. 116/9
A. Trowell: 
Arioso op. 4/7
A. Trowell: Chanson villageoise op. 4/11